2018 GAYA Nominations OPEN!

The Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA) is hosted by the Georgia Writers Association (GWA), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that hosts a variety of events for the local literary communities. From 1964 to 1993, GAYA was hosted by the Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists, making this award the oldest literary award in the southeast. Since that time, the GWA has proudly hosted this prestigious award.

Nominations for the 2018 Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA) are now open. Books published in the year 2017 are eligible for nomination. Click the link to read the Official GAYA Guidelines. Once you’ve carefully reviewed the guidelines, you may submit your nomination along with the requested materials, including the $60.00 nomination fee and two hard copies of the nominated author’s book. All requested materials must be submitted on or before  January 31, 2018.

Frequently Asked Questions

Even if all your questions are answered below, please read the guidelines for clarity and additional information.

What books can be nominated?

Any book published within the 2017 calendar year is eligible for nomination. We do not accept reprints or second editions!

What are the required materials?

  1. The nomination form (click here)
  2. The $60.00 nomination check
  3. Two hard copies of the author’s book to: GWA 440 Bartow Avenue #2701, Kennesaw, GA 30144

Why do I need to mail in two hard copies of my book?

One copy is used to display at the Georgia Author of the Year ceremony. The other copy is mailed to the category judge.

Can I nominate myself?

Yes. Nominations may be submitted by the author, the author’s friend, family member, publisher, agent, etc.

What if my category has too few nominees?

If a category does not meet the required 4-book minimum, the author will have the opportunity to select the next best category. If no other category is chosen, the nomination fee will be refunded. For example, if there are only three nominees for Romance, we might suggest placing the books in the Literary Fiction category.

When will the winners be announced?

Winners and Finalists will be announced at the GAYA Banquet.

When is the GAYA Banquet?

The banquet and ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 16, 2018, at the KSU Center (3333 Busbee Drive, Kennesaw, GA 30144). Tickets for the banquet will be available for purchase in May 2018. Last year we sold out of banquet tickets with 240 attendees.

If you have any questions, please email administrator@georgiawriters.org.