2017 GAYA Tickets Now Available for Purchase

Please join us for the 53rd Annual

Georgia Author of the Year Awards Banquet.

Saturday, June 3, 2017

6-9 pm

Kennesaw State University Center, Room 400

This year marks the 53rd anniversary of the Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA), the oldest literary award in the Southeast. The awards were first held by the Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists in 1964 in to honor of Georgia writers. GAYA has been hosted by the Georgia Writers Association (GWA) since 1994. As the awards have grown in prestige and participation, categories have been added or modified to include a variety of fiction and nonfiction genres. The Posthumous Achievement Award, a new addition in 2013, and the Lifetime Achievement Award seek to honor exceptional efforts of Georgia’s past and present authors.

126 nominations took place this year in 14 categories. Click here for the full list of the 2017 GAYA  Nominees.  One winner and one finalist of each category will be announced at the GAYA banquet and ceremony on June 3, 2017.

The semi-formal banquet and ceremony will be held at the Kennesaw State University (KSU) Center, Room 400, at 3333 Busbee Drive, Kennesaw, Georgia 30144. The KSU Center is located behind Kennesaw Inn and Cracker Barrel.

Tickets for the banquet are $35 each and include a buffet dinner and wine vouchers. Table seating is not assigned or reserved.



GAYA_Vertical Logo